Some Reviews........

JUNE 2018

 

Cal Pep was the most amazing home. Beautiful design, stunning scenery, and very tranquil and relaxing. Lovely small villages and towns to visit. We loved all the organic food in the area too. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this fabulous house. Maggie is a super host and Amanda was very welcoming to greet us. Thank you for letting us stay in your wonderful home.

Debbie & Steve, Aberdeen

AUGUST 2017

Such a beautiful house with wonderful views from the many terraces/balconies. Maggie was great and really helpful. The house was so tastefully furnished with everything you could want. Two fridges for example, were great for chilling wine and beer. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms fantastic. Tarragona itself was very close and great for history and lovely meals. The far end of Torremdembarra beach was the quietest we found. Altafulla is a beautiful little old town. All in all Cal Pep is a quiet spot that has easy access to beach, historical towns and everything. We loved it!

Vicki, Alcester

 

 

Superbe Sejour a Cal Pep

Si vous souhaitez passer vos vacances parmi des foules de touristes au milieu des boutiques de souvenirs et des restaurants, cette maison n'est pas pour vous. 
Mais si comme nous, vous aimez vivre dans un lieu authentique tout en restant proche de lieux touristiques, alors vous allez apprécier cette location. Dans un petit village calme, où les habitants vous disent toujours bonjour quand on les croise, cette maison est très agréable à vivre : très lumineuse, une vue magnifique depuis une terrasse ombragée, tout le confort nécessaire, 4sdb équipée de serviettes, des ventilateurs et les draps fournis dans toutes les chambres...Ce n'est pas une simple maison mais le plaisir de vivre dans une villa !
On peut garer la voiture à 100 mètres (nous n'avons jamais eu de problèmes de place), on peut aller se balader dans les chemins du village ou se diriger vers les lieux touristiques : La ville animée de Tarragone est à 15 mn, le charmant port de Cambrils à 30mn, d'autres stations balnéaires sont proches et il ya une plage très agréable à 10 mn à la Mora (pas une grande étendue de 5km mais une plage d'1km fermée par des jolis rochers et avec un parking ombragé). En roulant un peu plus (1h, 1h15) vous pourrez passer de belles journées dans le delta de l'Ebre, à Montserrat, à Barcelone ou dans le parc naturel de Montsant puisque La Nou de Gaia est bien centré. 
Supermarchés, restaurant et bars ne manquent pas sur la côte.
Enfin, la propriétaire de la maison est très arrangeante et facile à joindre par mail. 
Bref nous avons passé de superbes vacances dans cette magnifique maison.

Review Submitted: 9 Aug 2017 | Stayed: July 2017

"Sawdays says: “In the centre of everything yet away from tourists, this hilltop village house is in an enviable position.” Spot on. A great space, great location and the perfect hide away just 15 minutes from the glorious Mediterranean’s past and present. "

Richard - London, United Kingdom

 

JUNE 2017

 

"The impressive wooden entrance doors hide behind them a most wonderful house which has the 'wow' factor in abundance. Views from the two terraces never stop changing and encourage all meals to be taken outside. Kitchen is just 'top class' with every item you need and the lounge is very comfortable for catching up with news from UK. The master bedroom is a masterpiece and the entrance hall has to be seen for it's space. This house has been re-built with a massive amount of thought and care. In the village there is a very well stocked shop, a wine shop, a Co-op and a bar/cafe. Absolutely A1"

Tony - Bradford on Avon, United Kingdom

 

MAY 2017

 

Nicky H. said...

Lovely House in peaceful setting.

Date of Stay

18 July 2016

We stayed here as a family of 4 in July ’16 for 10 nights and cannot recommend it highly enough.  We wanted somewhere away from the tourist areas as a relaxing base to explore Costa Dorada, Barcelona and Port Adventura, it didn't let us down.  The owner was very helpful throughout the whole process and picking up the keys was seamless.  

The house itself is perfect and very well equipped with everything you would need, especially the kitchen (serving dishes, blenders, lemon squeezers, cool bag for beach etc), we also made use of the very well designed BBQ on one of the terraces.  The lounge is large and comfortable and having 3 en-suites was also a real positive for us as it meant we all had a bathroom and no arguments!

The village is lovely and we found the locals were very nice to us even though our Spanish was rusty, although we did try!  The bar was friendly we didn’t feel unwelcome even when it was full of local people, they even served us a complimentary bar snack or tapas with our drinks.

As locations go we hit it spot on, the scenery from the house is beautiful and the drive to the various beaches, theme park and supermarket were all short, our longest trip was to Barcelona which was still less than an hour away.  

 I would definitely come back again - thank you Maggie.

 

Beryl M. said...

An amazing holiday rental

Date of Stay

21 June 2016

The information & photos are very accurate but you are still surprised at the space & views of this rental. Everything is of good quality & so well designed. Maggie, the owner, was very helpful & communication was easy .

The kitchen is well equipped , there are efficient fans in the bedrooms if it gets too hot & there is even a tv with English channels if you decide to leave the terrace with its views of wonderful sunsets!

There are plenty of leaflets to help you organise visits as the area is so interesting & varied, ( car hire needed).

Cal Pep is an amazing place , one of the best we have stayed in over 30 years of renting abroad.

 

 

Joanne U. said...

Beautiful house with outstanding views

Date of Stay

07 August 2015

This is a beautiful, well equipped and spacious house with outstanding views.  The town is very small and quiet so a car I feel is a must.  The area is wonderful, full of lovely beaches, restaurants, culture and things to do for any age.  My family had a lovely holiday here and we hope to return one day.  Communication was great with Maggie who owns this house, she was quick to answer any emails and gave us lots of valuable information regarding the house and area.

 

 

 

Jaime C. said...

Spectacular

Date of Stay

28 July 2015

Cal Pep is an extraordinary house.  Sympathetically rebuilt so that the exterior fits with the traditional Catalan village of La Nou de Gaia, its modern, light interior lifts your spirits as soon as you enter its impressive wooden doors. It is hard to capture in photos or words the feeling of delight we had staying there. Cal Pep's owners have stylishly designed and furnished the house and making arrangements to stay there was easy, efficient and pleasurable. There is an abundance of space and comfort - our three teenagers were thrilled with their en-suite accommodation and opportunity to lounge in the sun. Huge windows and large terraces look over hills and vineyards (where we spotted a family of wild boar!). We took several very pleasant walks straight from the front door as well as driving the short distance to beaches in the lively resorts of Torredembarra, Altafulla and Tamarit.  Inland, picturesque mountains and rivers are within a two hour drive and definitely worth visiting. We particularly enjoyed  the medieval monastery of Poblet and walled market town of Montblanc in the Prades mountains.  A swimming pool would have would have made it ridiculously perfect,  but we did take advantage of a lovely pool  (and nearby restaurant) in the neighbouring village of  El Catllar.  If you are looking for a beautiful place to stay, then look no further.

 

 

Ray B. said...

Incredibly Amazing

Date of Stay

17 August 2014

The photos do not do enough justice to how beautiful the house, views and village are. We were truly taken by surprise as to how wonderful the place was.

Maggy has taken a huge amount of trouble to ensure that everything one requires to enjoy a relaxing and comfortable time in Cal Pep are there. We ended up spending most evenings cooking in their fully equipped kitchen.

Everything is only 10 – 15 minutes drive away, so although you are in a quaint little village, you are still close enough to  Torredembarra .

Absolutely loved our stay, and would definitely return for a longer stay

 

Apolline A. said...

Perfect holiday in a beautifull house !

Date of Stay

27 July 2013

The house was big and really confortable, everything according with the pictures on the site (no bad surprises). The decoration was elegant and nice: we feel as if we were at home. The terrasse give an unic view on the landscape, really great for the breakfast !! 

In the house, there is a lot of informations about the place and some advices about what to see in the area (Taragone for exemple which is a wonderfull city) , where to eat and where to make some shopping.

The village is quiet and typical and the beach near (10 min with a car). 

Whatsmore, the owner of the house is really nice and always disponible to help you or give you some informations if you need it.

We love this place, and hope we will return soon !!!

Anonymous said...

True value.

Date of Stay

27 April 2013

Cal Pep is more than a rental villa, it's an experience. With obvious great care, the owners have rebuilt/restored the house in a contemporary style internally while carefully preserving the traditional feel and architectural detail. It's a really special place to spend a week or two.

The house is quality-built and outfitted with all the modern amenities, and is very comfortable. The downstairs has a sunny semi-open plan with a well-appointed kitchen and a nice indoor/outdoor flow. Upstairs, the beds and linens were of a very nice quality and, as we were staying with a mix of family and friends, we especially appreciated the en-suite baths. We also enjoyed the many special touches such as a thriving herb garden. As other reviewers have pointed out, the place is every bit as fabulous as it looks in the photos. 

La Nou itself is a charming little hillside village with a thousand years of history, and Cal Pep commands a privileged location right in its historic centre. The view from the expansive terraces looks northwest over a valley quilted with vineyards and olive groves and there is a network of walking/biking paths, accessible just down the hill from the house, that meander through this beautiful landscape. It's just a quick hop by car to Torredembarra and only slightly longer to Tarragona, and believe me even after visiting these spectacular places you will look forward to winding your way back to Cal Pep to relax and enjoy the house. Overall, Cal Pep and its pastoral setting represent a real value compared to a beach house rental of similar quality in the area, and we could not have been happier with the choice to stay there.

Finally, Maggie (owner) was wonderful to deal with, and the local couple who helped us with check-in/check-out couldn't have been nicer.

 

A M. said...

Beautiful House

Date of Stay

04 August 2012

Cal Pep is a beautiful place to stay. The house is just as impressive as it appears on the website, perhaps more so on arrival (we walked from room to room just saying wow for a good 10 minutes...) The kitchen is extremely well equipped and everything works! The bedrooms are all spacious and ensuite. There are spectacular views from all of the windows.

We found the owners a pleasure to deal with and very helpful. La Nou de Gaia itself is a delight- neat and tidy with facilities including a well-stocked shop and a baker's within walking distance. There is enough to do and see nearby and a day trip to Barcelona is relatively easy on the train. Thoroughly recommended.

 

We are also listed with 'One Off Special Places to Stay' - http://www.oneoffplaces.co.uk

For more information email maggyrussell02@aol.com